Skip to content

Take this paper, and go forth!

December 16, 2008

I have finally graduated from journalism graduate school after three and a half horridly long years.

I wanted to go to graduate school because I thought my undergraduate degree (a BA in political science, and a minor in peace and conflict studies) would not help me get a job.

I decided to study journalism because I thought I could help people through investigation, research, and reporting.

I thought graduate school would make me feel like a professional.

Ahhaha. Right. Although I feel about as professional as a child, my graduate school experience did teach me a few things.

I learned that some people don’t care about your work, your feelings, and don’t care if you improve, learn, or grow as a writer.

Buuuuuttt…

I also learned that some people are caring mentors, will help you sort through your ideas, and will spend time with you to ensure you become the best writer, reporter, and editor you can possibly be.

Basically, I learned how the cliché “real world” works. I got slammed, and I got praised.

I also learned that I don’t want a high paying, stress filled job (wait, what journalist does have a high paying job?).

But really.

I’m a goofy person at heart, and I would rather work in a somewhat calm, non-judgmental office and have a mediocre salary than have the company I work for run me ragged.

I’m proud of the work I completed in graduate school. Surprisingly, I never did tire of my project, which was a series of teen health blogs for teen girls. The girls I interviewed loved the blog, and said it would really help other young teens be more comfortable when asking friends, family, or physicians about health concerns. That reaction alone makes me feel like I’ve made it.

I’m thankful I went to graduate school. I made a lot of good friends, got to work at a good company that allowed me to work a flexible schedule, and I have learned how to write meaningful articles that will someday (I hope), help others.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mikewalzman permalink
    December 16, 2008 4:21 am

    hey, stumbled upon your blog (i hate saying that, but I feel weird just commenting on a random persons blog, ha) and I just wanted to say that I think that’s great that 1. you graduated and 2, that you found something that you love doing, I could tell in your post that this is something that you are passionate about and want to help people with. It’s been my experience that when you have those driving forces, nothing can stop you from living your dreams. I wish you the best, and will swing by again : )

    • Abbie permalink
      December 16, 2008 4:32 am

      Thanks much! Yeah, it’s a long road, I must say, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it. I’ll make it a point to “stumble” by your stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

