Skip to content

My dog broke the blinds again

January 27, 2009

Damn.

Interviews, rejections, boredom, and more interviews,

but

I’ve got to write. I am irritated that I haven’t done more blogging since I graduated. I think my hesitance is because I’ve been really down about being jobless, and stuck in a rut, and all of my friends no longer live in town. I can’t use that as an excuse for myself any more.

Merg.

So, I mentioned the other day that I wanted to write about Thank you notes. Weird subject matter, I know. But I think a lot of people forget just how important thank you notes are.

I’ve heard family members, and family friends vent to my parents and me about how their son or daughter never thanked them for a gift, money, help, etc. At the time, I thought it wasn’t a big deal.

No, no, no. It is a HUGE deal. Recently, I have been trying to give friends advice, and help them through their bad times. Also, I gave a lot of gifts to people who have helped me this year.

Everyone I gave the gifts to thanked me. I truly had no idea how much their thanks would mean to me. I felt incredibly happy.

On the other hand, a lot of my advice has fallen on deaf ears. People blithely take my words, thoughts, and tips and go on their way. I don’t want praise. Or a lot of thanks. Just a simple, “Hey, that was a nice gesture.” Believe me, if I am taking the time out of my day of job searching, apartment searching, parent helping, working out, working, helping, and thinking to help you, you mean something to me. I want to help.

So, yesss. Don’t be a lazy lollipop. Thank yer friends, and be a grateful grape.

On another note, I totally got myself a BlackBerry Storm. I justified the buy by calling it a “graduation gift” to myself. Heck, I deserve something after all of the stuff I have been through.

So yes. My nerdarific needs, and tech geek lust is now satisfied.

Now, to download the BB sync for Mac. Row-a-rific.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

