Skip to content

Best left alone

January 29, 2009
tags: ,

Interviews are interesting.

Today, I had three interviews. One interview was for a marketing position at a publishing company. Another interview was at a life insurance agency for a law secretary position. The last interview was for a marketing intern position at a KC PR Ad firm.

All interviews went well.

At least I thought…

OK. That sounded really negative.

The law secretary and the PR firm interviews went great. Exceptional even. Everyone was positive, friendly, and nice.

I don’t know if I will get these positions, but I did try my best. So, I wait.

Now, don’t get me wrong. The publishing company interview went well. Everyone was relatively friendly. As I left, one of the interviewers said, “Well, we want to make up our mind fast, so you don’t decide to work somewhere else.”

“Hmm,” I think. “It’s only between me and one other person. I may get his job.”

Oh, no, dear Abbie.

I got an e-mail within the hour, telling me I was outstandingly qualified, but they offered the position to the other applicant.

Wha? Wh…why would they lead me on?!

I went into the interview with an open mind as always. I didn’t expect anything, but then, I was given false hope.

Man.

I’m not too upset, though. The job was not in my top five, anyway. However, I did feel a bit icky when I got the news.

I can’t help but wonder if I am doing something wrong in these interviews. Am I too confident? Too agreeable? Not experienced enough? Too experienced?

I seriously have no idea.

The next time I get rejected, though, I am going to ask why I wasn’t hired in a kind way. I need to figure out what I am doing wrong, and fix it immediately.

So, am I talking too much about my job search? If I am, let me know. It is hard to talk about anything else when all you do is interview prep and interviews.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 11:50 pm

    Wow 3 interviews, that’s too much for me, like when I eat 3 cheese burguers 🙂
    Good luck with your heavy job search.
    Regards,
    CG

Leave a Reply

