Skip to content

Breaking news: Writing, journalism – missing…

March 24, 2009

I finally found a second part-time job. I’m now not only a cashier, but a bakery closer. So, I may get to keep my apartment. Whew.

Over the last few months, I have applied for several writing jobs (as you all probably know because I rant about it constantly).

Well, writing jobs don’t exist these days.

The few jobs that do pop up go to amazing writers (or the ones with 25 years of experience. My lowly three years isn’t really enticing anyone).

I, like many other writers, am upset that journalism is failing…miserably. Some newspapers and magazines are crumby, I know, but others aren’t, and they are going under. Heck – my local newspaper, the KC Star, is laying off many talented writers.

It. Just. Plain. Stinks.

I know journalism is changing. Most everything will soon be online. That’s fine and dandy because that’s the type of journalism I studied, but I truly hate that many newspapers are having to scrap their paper editions.

Oh, well. Any editors out there…shoot me an e-mail when you are ready to hire on some new staff. I’d love to help in the transition.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Owen permalink
    March 24, 2009 9:22 pm

    Sometimes you just have to be in the write space at the right time. I know that’s more than cliche but I was working a sandwich deli counter when a Star reporter came through one day and that one chance encounter changed everything.

  2. Abbie permalink
    March 24, 2009 11:53 pm

    Oh, I believe it. I’ve heard a few stories like that. Thanks for the encouragement, though. Your blogs are definitely good, so they made a good hire.

Leave a Reply

