Skip to content

Insults 101

April 2, 2009
tags: , ,

Oh, man.

I was at work today and overheard dudes doing what *some* dudes do…

“Brah, you are so gay.”

“No, bro. You are way gayer.”

“No, no. You are. I can get b*%#hes like, whenever.”

~Stomp – stomp – stomp~      (that’s them walking away).

Wha?

First of all, I doubt that guy can get girls at the drop of a hat. And also, why is the other dude gay?

How can that term even describe someone’s personality?

How can an object be gay, and why is being called gay an insult?

Next time I see those guys, I am totally going to tell them they are horribly straight.

Ha. Showed you guys.

Seriously. Don’t demean others.

* I updated this after getting the comment below…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Spacey permalink
    April 2, 2009 7:59 am

    Its funny how you managed to put gays & babies together in one post! no offense.

    As a straight guy, I would consider being called ‘gay’ an insult, not that I have anything against the gay people, just that I cannot believe that people are born gay (with the exception of eunuchs/genetically impaired). I think it is a condition that one grows into.

    ‘gay’ might sound insulting at two levels.
    Firstly, for a normal human, would it make sense to sow ones seeds somewhere one is sure the seeds wont grow to be fruits? any effort in that direction would logically be futile (sorry, am trying to make it sound least insulting, in case a reader of this comment happens to be gay for real).

    Secondly, Imagine a world where you have to turn to your own kind (implying same sex) for sexual gratification, that too willfully!! for a normal human, it would sound too desperate, way way too desperate!

    so, would you like being called an ‘Illogical (completely) & Desperate (in weird ways) person’?

    Its the same as being called stupid, just that it would be a lot more demeaning! (for a normal man, i.e.,)

    on a different note, Its ironic that being called gay had to come under ‘The Perfect Accessory’!

  2. April 2, 2009 1:59 pm

    Publish. Then rip him a new one.

  3. Abbie permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:29 pm

    Ok. Here we go…

  4. Abbie permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:32 pm

    Well, yeah. OK If you are not gay and some one assumes you are and keeps saying, “no you are gay,” I get ya. But, these were two straight guys shooting the s*^t. Not the same thing. And I doubt the world will ever become a place where straight people will be made to be gay. Come on. As for why people are gay and the whole creation of babies? I don’t agree with you, but to each their own.

    And oh! The perfect accessory did not refer to gay folks. Just a commentary on teen pregnancy rates.

    Man, oh man. It’s been changed to clarify. Thank you for the comment, though. I like opinions.

  5. Shawn permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:35 pm

    Gay or straight, they are all normal people to me.

  6. Abbie permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:58 pm

    Yeah. I’m pretty sure your sexuality does not determine if you are normal.

  7. April 3, 2009 2:29 am

    Spacey-
    Calling someone gay is the same as calling someone “stupid”, “illogical”, and “desperate”?

    Wow. You’re a real credit to humanity.

    Have you ever actually talked to a gay person? I mean, REALLY talked to one? This isn’t some sort of choice. You cannot “cure” being gay. You cannot stop being gay.

    People are born gay, for all the reasons you mention: why would someone “decide” to be attracted to the same sex, given the misunderstanding (or worse) they receive from the closed-minded?

    Answer: THEY DON’T. They simply ARE.

  8. Abbie permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:19 am

    JJ: Great comment. When I used to attend church, one of my pastors stated that gay people chose to be that way. I asked him, “how can you blithely say that? Don’t you have any gay friends? It’s how they are.” He admitted he didn’t, but still wouldn’t budge. Whether you think that way or not, open mindedness is best.

  9. Owen permalink
    April 3, 2009 5:42 am

    I never got calling inanimate objects gay but then I’ve never seen two male laundry detergents really going at it and having pulsating, pounding sex in the middle of Target. If I did, I wouldn’t be afraid to go “that’s a gay laundry detergent”

    I have my suspicions about some laundry detergents though…

  10. April 3, 2009 6:11 am

    Spacey – What the f was that all about? I was preparing to write out an inciteful rebuttal, but then I re-read your post. Then I read it again, to make sure I was actually digesting it correctly.

    You have nothing against gays, but find it “funny” that gays and babies are mentioned in the same post? You find the “the gay people” illogical and desperate? Because if there’s one word I’ve NEVER use to describe heterosexual males at bars and nightclubs, it’s “desperate.” Putting on hair gel and cologne and spending ridiculous money buying bubble-headed broads drinks just comes so naturally, after all.

    If sexual gratification was only “logically” determined by the opportunity for reproduction, humans would not engage in masturbation or foreplay. Monogamy would also be fairly counter-productive, as the greatest chances for reproduction result when the male mates with as many women as possible (and vice versa). Post-menopausal women would lose all sexual urges altogether. (And if there’s one thing prime time television programming has taught me, it’s that post-menopausal women are still horny as hell.) So would infertile men. Yet, humans are able to achieve sexual gratification in all of these conditions. Does this make them “illogical” or “desperate”? Or rather just people who are turned on by different things for God knows what reasons?

    Biologically, yes, it makes sense that the purpose of sexual gratification is the release of gametes that could potentially result in reproduction. But we’re talking about a species of animal that protects and reveres their elders, despite their lack of biological and sustainable productivity. We inexplicably believe in supernatural beings that intervene in our daily lives, and often make choices accordingly. We write poetry and make music and build tall buildings for no other reason than pride. Trying to tie human action to biological necessity is to fight a battle that was lost several millenia ago. Hence, your “reasoning” for why homosexuality is “illogical,” “desperate,” and thus a understandable choice for an insult is faulty, juvenile and extremely narrow-minded.

    Ball’s in your court.

  11. Abbie permalink
    April 4, 2009 3:33 am

    Ah, Floyd – how I love your comments. Someone needs to hire you – Fast. And Owen, you definitely broke the serious tone, which me thinks needed to done. I’ll try to keep an eye open for the laundry detergent and its quest of discovering its sexual preference.

  12. Spacey permalink
    April 4, 2009 7:50 pm

    Guys, I didn’t mean to anger or insult anyone. Its a sensitive subject and may be my comments were rather too light and dismissive. My apologies.

    From where I stand, I am unable to imagine what it is to be in love/attracted to someone of the same sex.

    I have never met a gay person who is serious with his partner. All the straight couple that I know are. I agree that this is not anything even close to substantial grounds for judgment, Its all that I have to help my opinion right now.

    Post my earlier comment, I ran an unsuccessful search for material on the net that would help throw light on the aspect that gay people are born so. But I came across material that discussed cases where a gay person had become straight (by falling in love with a woman) and also some cases where it was vice versa. So now my question is, is it that easy to change ones sexuality? the boundaries are so unclear for me that it is rather easy to assume that the state of being gay is conditional, a state that is driven by ones judgment and choices.

    I don’t mean to prove anything here…it’s just that I feel being a homosexual is more about sexual preference and less about sexuality.

  13. Abbie permalink
    April 4, 2009 8:26 pm

    Spacey: That’s fine if that’s your opinion. Not mad about that. I think, at first, I was more irritated of the campy nature of the comment. But, hey. It helped spark a conversation.

    One thing I will say is that my straight and gay friends have equally uncommitted and committed relationships. In fact, I think my straight guy friends have a worse time of it. Seems the ladies aren’t as kind these days. But that’s another post. Thanks for the comment, though!

Leave a Reply

