Skip to content

Essence! Take their essence!

April 8, 2009

I witnessed, perhaps, the most hilarious checkout ever yesterday.

A male, mid-thirties married was buying a large amount of baby items. Packages of diapers, ointment (ew. That’s a bad word. Almost as bad as moist and panties. Ehhhhh), baby powder, baby oil, baby food…

Anyhow. Towards the end of the belt sat a box of condoms.

The man had learned his lesson. Ah, hilariousness.

You can learn a lot about a person by examining what they are buying. It’s kind of interesting, I must say. I’m pretty happy I get to interact with other people, though. Weird, I know. But I think the constant human interaction is helping my shyness, and tendency to avoid people.

I’m also learning a lot about people. Most of the folks I work with are in a situation like myself and can’t find work anywhere else. A lot of the customers I meet are in a similar place, too.

Learning new things, and understanding others could help my writing, me thinks.

You thinks?

Anyhow, I’m off to start a new project. Well, I’m not really leaving, but opening a word document to try a bit of fiction writing. I need to increase my creativeness. I don’t want any of you to see that disaster, though.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 4:02 am

    I was ticked by your feelings about the word “moist.” I love that word, but my best friend hates it. I think our strong feelings about it (one way or the other) are because the word itself so perfectly captures its definition. It sounds moist!

    Sorry. I know I have issues.

  2. April 8, 2009 4:02 am

    Sorry, I meant tickled, not ticked!

  3. Abbie permalink
    April 8, 2009 4:17 am

    Haha. I get that. It definitely does sound like what it represents. And, hilarious how one, little letter can totally change the meaning of a comment. Thanks for the comment!

  4. April 8, 2009 5:19 am

    Me thinks too. Great stuff Ab.
    Just surfing random wp blogs and found yours.
    I like your writing & style so much that I’m adding you to my bookmarks.
    I’ll check back later to see what kind of (delicious) disasters you are cooking up!

  5. Abbie permalink
    April 8, 2009 5:30 am

    Thank ya! I appreciate the feedback. We shall see if I can create anything worth posting…

Leave a Reply

