Skip to content

I need to buy a coloring book

April 9, 2009

Ah. Productive days. I applied for three jobs, and pitched my blog to a publication.

I feel great!

Wait. No I don’t. I’m sick. No, no – not sick in the head. I have a fever and a sore throat. It stinks.

Funny how I get so much done when I’m ill.

I did enjoy my day of freedom, though. I got to lay on the couch, listen to music, sit on the deck, watch “Be Kind, Rewind” – heck, why do I want a job again?

Oh yeah. So I can keep my social life.

All of my free time reminded me of how much fun I had when I was a kid (weird, huh?). I remember days where I played with my skip-it all afternoon, and ended the day walking to the local QuickTrip to buy a Clearly Canadian, a spicy pickle and a pack of Fun Dip with my spare change.

I used to be involved in everything, too. I was a:

Soccer player: Totally stunk. The only goal I ever made was for the other team. Most of the time you could find me picking dandelions in the middle of the soccer field.

Basketball player: I sucked. I am pretty sure the only reason I was kept on the team was because I was tall. I broke my finger five games into the season, though, so I didn’t hurt my team too much.

Artist: I did photography (even won a few little awards), pottery, I drew, painted…man. This, I miss. Unforunitly I can’t afford all of that equipment, and cannot afford classes. Guess I am just going to have to force myself to take out my camera one of these here nights.

Musician: I sang (won stuff, went places, competed…twas grand), played trumpet (scholarship bound until an injury stopped that train), played piano, and wrote songs. This, I may dable in again someday. Yes, you will never hear me do it, but I think I need to for myself.

So, today was interesting.

Today, I also discovered my deep love for Subtle, Hooverphonic and Santogold, and reaffirmed my love of Queens of the stone age, Beck and NIN. Yesh. It’s a weird mix, but it’s gooood.

Anyhow. I’m off. Have a nice evening, folks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 11:30 pm

    picking dandelions in the middle of the field during a soccer game … LOL … yeah, I hear a lot about those treacherous trumpet-related injuries. It’s dangerous work but somebody’s gotta do it. what did you do — fracture your larynx? sorry, didn’t mean to seem insensitive there. i’m sure it was a real injury and probably serious but that part just sorta struck me funny. 😉

  2. April 9, 2009 11:51 pm

    other famous trumpet injuries: Ranoutofbreathitis, PCCS (permanent chubby cheek syndrome), Louis Armstrong Disease, Bajou flu, MFFGSIBTVS (my freakin’ finger got stuck in between two valves syndrome), trumpeter’s cramp, carpel-tunnel of the lung … OK, OK, I’ve had waaaaaay too much fun with this. 😉

Leave a Reply

