Skip to content

I don’t know why!

April 13, 2009
tags: ,

Yesterday, as I packed groceries in a robotish way, a lady yelled at me…

“Mergle bah slesh!”

To that, I replied, “What did you say?”

She then said, “Where is the gum?”

Because I was busy it was the day before Easter. (This holiday, for some reason, always makes me think of the file “Jesus Christ Vampire Slayer.” I don’t know why, but it’s an amazing film.), I didn’t have a great response…

“I don’t know,” I said, with a sheepish grin and shoulder shrug.

She the yelled, “Well, why the @*$& are you working here?!?” Stomp stomp stomp…

To that, I replied, “I don’t know. I really don’t know.”

*Cue angsty stare*

Ah, people. Gotta love ’em.

So, I think I am finally over my sickness. Let me tell you, I totally wasn’t down with it (it being the sickness).

You know what that means, don’t you?

More writing and job applications!!! Ahhhhh! Also, I may start to go to those way spiffy job fairs the kids talk about.

I tend to shy away from job fairs because I can’t really sell myself. I feel like I’m saying: “Hmm. Yes. I’d be perfect for this job because I am the most professional human being ever. I only own suits. I am always happy. I have no impure thoughts.”

You know what I mean. I’ll give a fair or two a shot, though. Nothing too horrible will happen…

probably.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 2:31 pm

    gall yuh fi berrr (wal-mart shopper translation: glad you’re feeling better!) 😉 dg

  2. April 15, 2009 1:42 pm

    I’ve never been to a job fair, though I suppose it’s similar to a college fair. For that, and interviews in general, I never went in trying to sell myself. You are who you are and know what you know, so have confidence in that and simply realize that you + employers are trying to find the best fit; be natural, relaxed, yourself. The people hiring for companies are also trying to put on a good impression; this process isn’t one sided, they’ve just had more practice. My approach for interviews is a friendly one; I’m interested in getting to know them, understanding what the job will be, and letting them see me. If this interaction is great, I’m pleased and hope to hear back. Just treat the interviews like a friend with maybe a touch more professionalism. If they can’t be friendly, forget them. Have specific questions ready, but don’t go through them like a list. Converse. If you’ve had enough, just end it with Mergle bah slesh!

  3. meghan permalink
    April 15, 2009 5:18 pm

    I’ll go to a job fair with you!! It will be fun to go to one with a friend.

  4. Abbie permalink
    April 15, 2009 7:08 pm

    Dan – I am becoming soooo versed in the language of disgruntled shopper, tired mom, drunk dude, and high person it’s ridiculous!

    Kyle – Yup. That’s what I intend to do. I think I’m just getting tired of the ol’ meet and greet.

    Meghan – Yessss! We should. I’ll let you know if I hear of any in the area. Also, I may have found a networking event for nonprofits. I’ll let you know once I get the details.

Leave a Reply

