Skip to content

They just aren’t that into you

April 16, 2009

On Tuesday, I attended my first networking event.

It was a last minute decision, so I got ready in a frazzled hurry. I wasn’t sure what to wear or bring. At one point, I began questioning my make-up choice.

“Will black eye-liner make me look all evil and unapproachable?” ~ “Which lipstick says ‘professional 26-year-old writer,’ and which says, ‘meek teenage nerd?’”

Yeah. I was nervous.

As I rushed around my apartment, collecting my different resumes, purse and heels, I started thinking about how hilarious I looked.

I’m pretty sure I looked like one of those “workin’ ladies” you see at the beginning of 1980s movies.

~ Black screen ~

Cue: Cheesy 80s electronic drumbeat

– Show the skyline of a city
– Go down to street level

~ Walking amid the professional businessmen in suits is a woman. She’s wearing a suit, too, but wait – Look! She has running shoes on AND she’s holding her heels. She’s keeping up with the men, but she’s a lady! Her heels prove it! Man, that lady has it together. She’s got it all ~

Well, I felt like a cheesier version of that lady with no confidence.

Anyhow, it went well enough. I didn’t expect much because it was my first event. I think if I ever attend one again, I’ll know what to do and be a bit more talkative.

I did notice one thing, though – job networking is very much like blind dating.

You go up to someone, introduce yourself, and tell him or her what you do for a living (or what you did – f’ing economy).

Within the first few seconds, you can totally tell if they are into you or not. They will get a sparkle in their eye and smile or they will look at their shoes, and glance at their watch.

If the meeting doesn’t go well, you feel like you just wasted your time and retreat to the bar for another glass of wine. If you two hit it off – hell, yeah. You trade business cards, and you are good to go!

Ah, networking. Why must it be so difficult?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. owen permalink
    April 17, 2009 3:15 am

    They don’t like it when you cause a scene. I got kicked out off the J-School’s career fest for being “tired and emotional”

  2. April 17, 2009 3:19 am

    You left out the Big Hair! Also, shoulder pads are a must for 80s ladies.
    Don’t worry kid, you’ve got what it takes & it will happen. Good stuff!

  3. Abbie permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:34 am

    Owen – Yeah. I kinda get that impression. I felt pretty uncomfortable among all the overly enthusiastic people and their need to shake my hand constantly. And while I sense that perhaps you were not thrown out for that, it wouldn’t surprise me if that was true.

    Gypsy – I totally did. Damnit. Thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

