Skip to content

How to handle flu threats, annoying management

April 27, 2009

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Mine consisted of staying indoors and nursing my skinny self back to health. I finally decided to go to a doctor.

I like doctors, but let’s face it, I could be spending my money on much more fun things (like food, and rent!). It was a good thing I went, though. While I do not have the swine flu, I do have a sinus thing. It’s now almost vanished. WooHoo for antibiotics, and such.

Anyhow. So, this here swine flu is interesting. According to an article at MSNBC.com, the World Health Organization has reported that there are now 40 cases of the flu in the United States. Now, that’s not a crazy number, but I will admit that I am beginning to regret taking a job where I come into contact with lots people (including coughy, sneezy ones that wipe their nose and hand me money, and ones that suck on the credit card swiper. Damn babies.).

Fear not, though. NPR reported some fun flu fighting facts from the CDC. Apparently, hand washing is a great way to fight the flu. Also, consider staying home when you are ill. Thank you, CDC.

OK. Onto other fun things.

This weekend I considered breaking lease with my apartment complex. I signed my lease when I had a job that was full-time and paid me well. Now I have a job that, well…uh….yeah. So, I asked management how much they would charge me if I left. The grand total is:

$2,280!! Plus, a $250 early cancellation fee from Time Warner Cable (what a bonus!).

Ahahaha. I can’t afford to leave my apartment I can’t afford! It’s so funny.

As the “I’m poor” conversation continued, the management representative I was speaking to tried to give me some more crappy information:

Apt. Lady Demon: So, are you putting in your notice to leave?

Me: Oh, no. Not yet. I’m just weighing my options.

Apt. Lady Demon: Well, OK. Would you like to attend a pizza party and sign for an additional year, so your rent won’t increase next year?

~pause~

Me: Ummm, no. I want to leave as soon as possible, but can’t. And no. I will not be extending my lease.

Apt. Lady Demon: Oh, OK.

Seriously, lady demon? Man.

Anyhow, a lot of people are losing their homes. I can’t even imagine being homeless with a family. Being single totally has it’s perks sometimes.

Well, I hope the remainder of your Monday is awesome or at least entertaining.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 7:03 am

    New theme – Hot!
    I can totally relate to your apartment situation. Don’t tie yourself down to another contract. I’m sure you can find a creative alternative. Hope you are feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

