Skip to content

The woes of post-interview communication

May 5, 2009

Why does warm weather make me want to listen to Sweet Tart-ish music? It’s a bit depressing, I must say. I can’t help but listen to The Go! Team, Santogold, the YYY, and The Sounds. I do, however, have an excuse for listening to The Sounds. I’m reviewing their show next week. There’s no excuse for the other stuff, though. Huh. I just noticed how almost all of those bands have a name headed by “The.”

OK. I’ll shut up about that now.

I’ve been out of work since March. I’ve applied for a ton of jobs and been to a handful of interviews. In preparation for the interviews, I read some cheesy articles about how to behave before, during and after an interview. I’m pretty sure I have the before and during part down, but I’m not so sure about the after.

I read that it’s good to follow-up with the company and thank them for their time. I also read if the company takes longer than they said they would to call you back, you should shoot them an e-mail or give them a call.

The last company I interviewed with said they would contact me in a week and a half. I waited until two weeks had passed, and sent them an e-mail. They responded, after a few days, and told me that they had not made their decision. OK. Cool.

So, a month passed and I began to get suspicious. I mean, the company DID say they would tell me if I was no longer being considered for the job, so what was up? I had already come to the conclusion that I didn’t get the job, but I wanted them to tell me (or, for them to write it. Whatever.).

I decided to e-mail the company again. Five minutes after I sent the message, the company’s HR department replied, and told me the position was filled a few weeks ago.

Thanks for letting me know, guys!

As an interviewee, I expect the interviewer to stick to her word. I mean if I decided to omit one of the required parts of the application, she wouldn’t give me the time of day. Why is it OK for her to not tell me I’m not being considered for the job?

I understand the economy is bad and employers have a lot of applicants to choose from, but that doesn’t give companies the right to treat applicants like moldy bagels.

I don’t know. Maybe I’m way off base. Eh?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:57 pm

    I applied for a serving position. They told me they wanted someone with atleast an associates degree… For a freakin server!

    • absblabs permalink
      May 5, 2009 7:18 pm

      Seriously? Where was this at?

    • Owen permalink
      May 7, 2009 1:11 am

      Hey Shawn,

      Can you please tell me where this was? I’d appreciate it greatly.

      • Shawn permalink
        May 7, 2009 1:43 am

        Good Ole Apple Bee’s…

  2. meghan permalink
    May 5, 2009 7:24 pm

    I’ve only applied to a handful of jobs (less than 10) and haven’t gotten a single interview, if that makes you feel better:) Damn being overqualified!

    • absblabs permalink
      May 6, 2009 2:45 am

      Oh, man. That stinks. I haven’t had an interview since the beginning of April, so I get your frustration. I get the over qualified and under qualified response, since many people applying for jobs have 10+ yrs. experience. It is pretty darn stinky.

Leave a Reply

