Skip to content

This is what I need

May 28, 2009

I love going to shows. If the show is great, I leave feeling energized and creative; I’m ready to write, run, draw, and think up my next great idea. If the show is mediocre, oh well. At least I went, and I have something to talk about the next day.

Well, last night I went to a great show. I mean, the show wasn’t necessarily amazing, but the songs I heard reminded me how powerful music is.

I went to the NIN/JA (KC edition) last evening. The Beautiful Bodies opened the show by playing a gig near the VIP section. I didn’t catch their set. Oops.

Anyhow, Street Sweeper Social Club took the stage around 7 p.m. I hadn’t heard any of their stuff before seeing them live. I was a bit interested that Tom Morello was their guitarist, though.

We fly like paper, and all our songs sound the same.

We fly like paper, and all our songs sound the same.

The set started strong, but soon became, well, eh. I thought most of their stuff sounded the same. I’m sorry. I just couldn’t get into it. Also, I became really angry when they covered M.I.A.’s Paper Planes. When they began to play the song, I thought “Oh, sweet. They are going to cover The Clash’s “Straight to Hell.” No, Abbie. They are covering M.I.A.

Really, guys? You cover a song that came out two years ago?

Ugh.

Anyhow, their set ended after 20 minutes (woo!) Next up was NIN.

Shawn and I, shivering are faces off while waiting for NIN.

Shawn and I, shivering our faces off while waiting for NIN.

The cold, damp weather gave NIN a backdrop of clouds and gloom. It was obvious that the majority of the crowd was there for Nails. Almost every seat was filled before they came on stage, and a lot of people left after their set ended (at least in my little center section. Maybe they were sitting. Hmmmm.) I must admit that I was rather angered they were the second act. I mean, who wants to see NIN at 8 p.m.? Oh, well. NIN is NIN, and I’ll take ‘em however I can get ‘em.

They began the show strong, and finished strong as well. The set list had a decent mix of old and new. I would have rather heard more from The Fragile, but that’s just me. Also, they played “The Becoming,” and “The Wretched,” and “The Fragile.” I teared up, guys. Seriously. I’m that lame.

Towards the end of the set, Trent told everyone how much he appreciated the support through the years. He then confirmed that this was NIN’s last tour. This information made me sad.

However…

I did notice that Trent didn’t say, “I’m not going to make music anymore.”

OK, Trent. I can live with not seeing you again, but please, please, please don’t quit making music. I mean, the guy is doing a lot these days (seriously – click the link. Donate a dollar and save this kid’s life.)

Go, Trent, go!

Go, Trent, go!

The show ended on a powerful note with “Head Like a Hole,” then “Hurt.” Everyone seemed happy, but sad – then grouchy and squinty when the house lights came on.

Although I enjoyed the “Wave Goodbye” show, I liked the performance I saw at Lolla more. It was longer, at night, and the lights/audio/background was amazing. Also, the ending song at Lolla, “In this Twilight,” was incredibly moving. Also, Trent really seemed to connect with the Lolla audience. Before he played “Hurt,” he told us how he wrote the song during a very dark time in his life. He then said he never thought he’d make it this far.

Anyway. I wish I could have heard “All the Love in the World,” “Even Deeper,” “No, You Don’t,” and “Down in it.” I guess I never will.

*sigh of sadness*

I stayed for a tiny of Jane’s Addiction. I’m a semi-fan of Janes. I love their sound, but can only listen to a few of their songs in a row. Their performance was great, though. My friend and I forgot how much we miss 90s psychedelic grunge. I mean, that stuff is so creative – so moving.

Oh, Perry.

Oh, Perry.

I miss that.

So, yes. I enjoyed the show. NIN’s songs make me feel creative and crazy all at once. It’s weird. I guess that’s what good music does to me. Anyhow. I won’t describe my crazy emotions and the massive amounts of energy I get from listening to great music.

I’ll merely end this post by saying, God damn, I love NIN. I truly hope Trent does something soon.

And, oh.

One more thing.

I’m really happy I got a poster (ha. You thought I was going to say something sappy. Wrong-o, buddy.)

Yeah. I got it. I'm a happy potato.

Yeah. I got it. I'm a happy potato.

One Comment leave one →
  1. shawnlaveryphoto permalink
    May 29, 2009 12:31 am

    Trent wont stop making music… He’s too creative and such a huge voice in the music industry. Im sad he wont be touring (at least for a long time) but I know he has a few tricks up his sleeve. I really was diggin the art nouveau at Janes. Really set off the psychedelic grunge theme.

Leave a Reply

