Skip to content

Ab’s music and movie tidbits

May 29, 2009

Here are the musical nuggets o’ joy I found interesting this week:

Dax Pierson, member of the way awesome group Subtle, was paralyzed in a 2005 car accident when his seat broke loose. Man, oh man. I bet Ford is angry. I, however, am happy Dax got the money.

The Dandy’s do rule, OK? The Dandy Warhols are re-releasing their 2003 album, Welcome to the Monkey House. The Warhol’s were un-happy with what Columbia released back in 2003, so they call do-over.  Look for “The Dandy Warhols are Sound,” on July 14th, 2009.

In new music news:

I want these albums. Now.

Black Moth Super Rainbow makes me happy. Their music also lets me know how an acid trip would be. Thanks, guys!

I can’t help but love these dudes. I tried to resist it, but can’t. Grizzly Bear’s got soul and harmony, and that’s just fine with me.

Hot, damn! I want to see these films:

New, quality b-horror, you say? I’m totally in! This review, at NPR.com, tells you all you need to know about the new film, Drag me to Hell. I can’t wait to see it!

I just saw an interview last week that reminded me why I love b-horror. Charlie Rose interviewed J.J. Abrams and asked him what he thinks makes a good, fun film. Abrams said a good film is like a b-movie that isn’t. He said that b-movies have real characters. The viewer grows to love the characters, enjoys getting to know them, and likes watching them evolve. He sited Jaws and Tootsie as great examples.

The other film I want to see is Quentin Tarantino’s new film, Inglorious Bastards. I won’t even go into detail on why. I’ll simply say it’s a Tarantino film.

A’ight. I’m off. I must prepare some interviews. Have a lovely Friday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

