Skip to content

It’s nice when good things happen

June 10, 2009
tags: ,

My grandfather is a WWII vet. He joined the army when he was 17. He was a medic.

One evening, my grandfather and fellow soldiers were riding in a truck when they were attacked. One of his friends died in his arms. He got shot, three bullets in each of his thighs. Although he was injured, he carried other men to safety while still under attack.

When my grandfather tells this story, he always says, “It’s what anyone would have done.”

Nah, gramps. Not everyone would have done that, but thank goodness you did.

Anyhow.

This brings me to today.

My parents bought my grandfather a hat that’s embroidered with a Purple Heart and Silver Star emblem. These are the two medals he received for what he did on the evening I mentioned above.

He was wearing that hat this evening when he and my parents went out to dinner. While my dad was getting his wallet out to pay for their meal, their waiter came to the table and said, “Don’t worry about it, sir. Someone already paid for your food. They wanted to remain anonymous, but wanted me to tell you (looking at my grandpa) he appreciates what you did, sir.”

Pretty darn nice, huh?

I plan on interviewing my grandfather soon. I’ve been planning on doing this for a long time. Yup. I think the time is right.

Don't miss with my grandpa, guys. He always wins the fight.

Don't mess with my grandpa, guys. He always wins the fight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    June 11, 2009 12:11 am

    Thats so awesome… I like your grandpa alot.

  2. June 11, 2009 9:09 am

    great story, abbie! your grandfather is obviously quite a man and it’s great that even a stranger can realize that and express appreciation.

  3. absblabs permalink
    June 11, 2009 11:44 am

    Shawn: I know! Yeah. He’s a pretty cool dude. He likes you too, you know.

    Dan: Thanks! Yeah. He really is great. I love it when he gets unexpected recognition like that.

Leave a Reply

