Skip to content

Weekend recap and deadly snack food

June 15, 2009

Ah, weekends.

My weekend went well. I started my dog-sitting job on Friday, went to two weddings on Saturday, and got an internship on Sunday.

The two weddings were nice. I normally don’t like weddings, but both were small and quick. Also, I can’t complain when there is an endless supply of Champagne. I enjoyed the receptions, but am paying for the celebration today *Shakes Fist*

Sunday, I met with someone from the Universal Press Syndicate. She wanted to make sure I was OK with the terms for their internship, and I was. I begin my internship with UPS tomorrow. I’ll be writing and helping their social media efforts.

I was very busy over the weekend, as you can probably tell, so I didn’t get a lot of movie watching or new music listening time. I did, however, re-watch an early 90s b-horror film Saturday, after the wedding receptions. After all, nothing says I love you like a deadly volt of electricity.

The film I watched was “Popcorn.” “Popcorn” was released in 1991. The movie is about a group of young theatre students who put together an all night horror-a-thon to raise money. The kids play a lot of old, cheesy creature feature films. During the films, the students recreate all the cheesy stunts executed during the movies original showing. For example, they rebuild a mosquito that sores over the audience during “Mosquito,” and place electrical buzzers under theatre seats for the showing of “The Amazing Electrified Man.”

All is well and good until…

A psycho killer begins to kill the students! Bah!

The killer is a “faceless” man who wears the skin of other people as masks. The killer also is an actor, so he’s able to move seamlessly amongst the kids without them becoming suspicious of his devious, and deadly actions.

The killer murders people in many fun ways: He ties a dude in a wheelchair up to a circuit board and electrocutes him, and uses the mosquito mentioned earlier to impale someone. Oh, the horror!

At the end of the film, the killer takes a girl on stage and threatens to kill her in a terribly theatrical way. I mean, hey, he’s an actor, the show and killing must go on, for goodness sakes.

Anyhow. “Popcorn” is a pretty decent, crappy horror film. One of these days, I’ll tell you guys about the best/worst horror movies ever – Microwave Massacre and Pieces. I also think I need to list my top ten b-horror list. Believe me, guys. You’ll want to watch every film I mention.

I’m off to prepare for my UPS intern shifts and to map out my Thursday dog-walking schedule. Also, something fun to do this weekend:

Go and look at the pretty, chalky pictures and see local artists do their thing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    June 16, 2009 12:46 am

    Oh man, I havent watched popcorn in years… It was terrible when it was new. Always hilarious!

  2. Glenn permalink
    June 16, 2009 3:25 am

    Oh man, I’m with ya on the champagne aftermath. My stomach has felt all bubbly and weird since. Not to mention the dehydration. Oh well, it was free, and you got to see me in a church, AND in the sun!

    “Popcorn” was indeed quite hilarious I must say. Watch out for that blue light. It’ll getcha!

  3. June 17, 2009 6:05 pm

    Oh Microwave Massacre… I remember that gem of cinematography.

  4. absblabs permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:21 pm

    Yes. Popcorn is horrible, but effing fun. And champagne is damn good, but bubble death. I still feel sick. Come onnnn, you know you liked Microwave Massacre. Twas good in a very bad way.

Leave a Reply

