Skip to content

Battle wasp and other tales

June 25, 2009

I planned to get a lot of work done this week.

I had all of my interview questions ready, blog ideas outlined, my ideas for my internship thought out, and my non-profit blogs mapped out.

Oh, how plans change.

Interviews: It’s really hard to get an interview from a source these days. I’m a nice reporter who’s respectful of people’s time. I try to be nice and helpful, but many people just don’t want to be interviewed, which is cool. I understand. There are a lot of crumby reporters out there who will write fabricated stories and not double check facts. Thing is, I’m not that kind of a reporter. I’m too careful sometimes. Sometimes when a source refuses an interview, I just want to say, “Hey, man. I understand. It’s just that I’m a freelance reporter working five or so jobs, and all I want to do is report what you say, and write a damn good story so I can find a full-time job. So, can I please have five minutes of your time?”

Quick, painless, awesome interviews are what I promise. Give me a chance!

Blog: I’m trying to figure out what you guys want to read. There. I said it. I have no idea what interests the readers of this blog. Do you like my music reviews? My b-horror rants? My WTF neighbor reports? I don’t know. All I know is that I want to continue writing blogs, and gain more readers in the process. I am worried that this blog is a bit too – damn, I’m going to say it – random (I hate when people label things as “randomness,” but I can’t think of a better word to describe my writing pattern. Yeah. I’m a writer who couldn’t think of a better word. Grarg). So, if any of you would like to speak up and tell me what you like about this thing, and what you don’t, I’d appreciate it *Bats eyelashes and smiles*

Internship: Oh, boy. Well, my boss got laid off. Yeah. Not a great thing to happen on the third day of your internship. Not only did the news of the layoff upset my because I know how horrid they are, but also because I hated it for my boss. Also, no one told me about what had happened. I sat at my desk with no assignment from 9:30-3:30, wondering where my boss was. At 3:30, I finally got the news, but no explanation or idea for what would happen to the internship. So, I’m still waiting on word.

Non-profit blog: I’m way behind, here. I have no excuse except that family came into town this week, so I was busy. I got to get on it. If anyone digs local non-profit news, feel free to click here. I promise I’ll write more.

And all of that brings me to today.

I planned on sleeping in, but was woken at 6:15 by construction. The apartment complex thought it would be an awesome idea to do construction on the torn up pool this morning. Great idea, guys.

This afternoon I planned on doing interviews, but was denied. I must think of a new plan of attack.

After I enjoyed a nice lunch out with a family friend, I went to Verizon to buy a phone accessory. I waited with the accessory in hand for 15 mins., while associates stared at me. Finally, one came up to me and said, “Did you sign in?”

I said, “No. I have to sign in to buy something?”

“Yes, you do,” said the employee.

This would have been valuable information 15 mins. ago.

There was already a line of three people in front of me, plus two on the waiting list, so I left without my stuff.

After my lovely Verizon outing, I came home to find my apt. had been taken over by wasps and ants.

I will fight you and win, fowl foe.

I will fight you and win, foe.

I don’t know how to get rid of wasps or ants, so I called my dad and asked for some advice.

He said he would make some ant traps, and would be over to help me fight “battle wasp” in a few.

My dad’s wasp killing plan of attack was to throw my dog’s stuffed tiger toy at it until it flew down from the ceiling. Good idea, dad, but who’s going to get the damn thing once it’s in flight?

My mom (who came over with my pops) said, “Me.”

Damn, mom. You’re braver than me.

So, for about 10 mins., they fought the wasp, and won. They even caught it in a glass and were able to release it into the wild! Kind folks, they are.

Anyhow…

Damn you, wasps, ants, and Verizon. I dislike you all.

I’m back on track now, and working. So, I suppose all is somewhat well with the world. Let’s hope my plan aren’t interrupted again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    June 26, 2009 2:14 pm

    Ahhh! Not Battle Wasps!

Leave a Reply

