Skip to content

Caucasian Debris, Friday, June 26, 2009, at Korruption

July 4, 2009

I arrived at Korruption in the West Bottoms not knowing what type of show I was going to see.

I assumed I’d be hearing bands that were influenced by the metal and hardcore genre. Each bands’ sound was much more diverse and spanned several genres, though. Jazz melodies, funk bass lines and reggae beats kept each acts’ set diverse, and the audience on their toes.

Although the show began at 9 p.m., I didn’t arrive until 10:45. The puppies from my dog-walking job left muddy paw prints on my face. I had to shower for the third time that day. That’s right. I said third.

I missed the first act, Circus, but caught the tail end of the second band, Paradise Affliction. I can’t recall exactly what the band sounded like because I was too busy getting comfortable with my surroundings and ordering a drink, but I can say their sound didn’t make me want to rip out my eardrums. So, that’s saying something, I suppose. I hope to catch them at another time so I can give them a fair review.

The next act up was Shot:30. The five-man band (six when their second saxophone player stepped in) sounded like an Urge, Sublime combination with a rockabilly singer.

Towards the end of Shot:30’s set, they began to sound a bit like G Love and the Special Sauce, which many folks would consider to be a good thing. I, however, dislike jam bands. Although it wasn’t their fault they sounded like a band I despise, I turned my attention towards my cold beer during the end of their set. The first half of Shot:30’s set was fun, though. They’re a great summer band, indeed.

The main act of the night was Caucasian Debris, a three-member band without a guitarist. Although CD only uses a bass, drum set, and a few sets of vocal cords to deliver their songs, they’re surprisingly loud.

Like, really loud.

Oh, yes, oh yes. We will make you move.

Oh, yes, oh yes. We will make you move.

The KC band’s singer, Mr. Captain Nasty, managed to get the majority of the crowd to move towards the stage by encouraging everyone to get their fucking asses upfront. His battle cry was effective.

Nasty’s inked appearance (I want tattoos and piercings like him when I grow up) and energetic stage presence grabbed and held the attention of the audience throughout CD’s set. Kaptain Carl (bassist) rocked along with Eric Von Dirty (drums) and steadily built up the band’s funky sound through their performance.

Caucasian Debris musically reminded of a punk infused Red Hot Chili Peppers, who took lyric writing lessons from Mindless Self Indulgence. I mean, what other KC band can you name that takes pride in writing songs about the art of tossing salad. I know not-a-one.

My only complaints about Caucasian Debris’ set were that the crowd was too small, and the band’s set was too short. But, they’re a relatively new act. I have a feeling that they’ll get more fans (and write more tunes) over time.

The best thing about Caucasian Debris is that they have a unique sound. A lot of metal and funk bands exist, but not many add the “experimental” tag to their sound description.

So, yup. All in all, a good show, and a good night.

Set list:

White trash
F.Y.M
Chocolate rose
Higher ground
Perceptive
Metal improv
Tiger stripes
White trash

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2009 10:15 am

    R.I.P. Caucasian Debris.

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:14 pm

    Oh, shittles. That doesn’t sound good.

  3. September 11, 2009 4:32 am

    Nope. Not good. Nasty’s moving to Salina, Eric is…doing something else I think. B.E.D. is still kicking though. My other band that is http://www.myspace.com/boiledeyesocketdisfunction.

  4. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:08 pm

    Well, that’s good. And, I must say, that name is pretty sweet. Good lucks and all that other musical jazz.

  5. Karl C. permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:50 pm

    Ahem…..

    I retract previous statements.

    Caucasian Debris is back at it, stay tuned.

  6. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    July 7, 2010 9:42 am

    Ha. Very good!

  7. Karl C. permalink
    October 6, 2010 4:10 pm

    Next show is Nov 19th at the Gaslight in Lawrence. You should come check it out!

Leave a Reply

