Skip to content

Working. Working it hard.

July 10, 2009

I need a fifth job.

Yup. That’s right. A F.I.V.E to the, uh, t-h job. I’ve got two steady freelance gigs that make my heart swoon (and pay me some cashses), another freelance gig that pays me in sweet ‘n’ lovely tunes, and another freelance gig that allows me to play and walk pups.

So, I’ve been applying for various Craig’s List gigs. This is a tedious process because most postings are bogus. So, weeding out the good from the bad can take a long time. Not to mention that I’m competing with about a 1,000 other hungry for work writers. It’s gosh darn frustrating.

The other group of jobs I’m looking into – service jobs. I mean, I’m not a very perky or cuddly person, but I’m pretty hilarious. And, the people who have money (people 50 and older) love me. It’s true. I get along better with older kids. The young kids, aka people my age (26ish), tend to think I’m weird and shy away from getting to know me.

Anyway. All I want is another job with a steady paycheck. And, I must say, I make a helluvadarngood latte. So, with any luck, you may see me serving up some coffee, or seak, or wine. Or something that resembles a food or beverage.

Other than searching for work, and listening to crazy new music, I’ve been attempting to write some lyrics for my band.

Yeah. I know.

Don’t laugh at me, but for the life of me, I cannot write a damn chorus. Well, I can, but I’m my own worst critic, so it’s never good enough. I’ll have to stop striving for perfection soon because our first show in Aug. 29 (opening for Juffage).

Let’s see. What else have I been doing. Ohhh. I’m trying to decide which of my possessions I should sell in order to be able to buy NIN tickets. Yes. I’ve seen them two time this year, but I want to see them again. I mean, what fan wouldn’t want to see Nails on their last tour in a small sized venue, and with an extra long set list + special guest (please be Bowie. Please)!?!?!?!?! I need to get enough monies to go to Chicago (via train), stay two nights and see z Nails (plus food and water. Abbies must eat and drink regularly).

And, I’ve been watching horrid b-horror (as usual). The latest film I caught was called Suspiria. While many critics have stated this film was amazing, I have to disagree. It’s not. It’s beautifully filmed, and the sets are amazing (I love me some art nouveau), but the actors do more staring than talking. Plus, it’s more of a thriller. The goriest scene was at the beginning of the film (a crazy sick hanging / glass through head double murder). Every scene after that was tame.

It was a bummer, guys.

Anyway. I’m a busy girl these days. It’s nice to be busy, though. And, I love having jobs that allow me share my opinion. Having that freedom is divine.

Now, if I could only get a company to hire me for my wit and snarkasam. That would be a real treat.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

