Skip to content

It’s not that I’m anti-baby

September 29, 2009
tags: ,

Ok.

Why do some women (without babies) get angry when other women state, “I really don’t want to have kids. Just not for me.”

I’ve encountered many women who tell me I’m “crazy” or “mistaken” for not wanting to have children (and, often times, they get realllly mad). And the children we are talking about are totally hypothetical mind babies. I’m not married or in a relationship, but even if I was, I seriously doubt I’d be on the baby track.

Call me crazy, but pregnancy is just not on my top ten list of things I want to experience in life. I really do think I can live without it.

I mean, I’m not even ruling out adoption. That could happen I really don’t see that happening. However, a lot of people I know frown on that, too, and say “oh, you’ll totally regret that it’s not yours.”

Really? How do you know, lady who doesn’t even have a flesh accessory of their own? Does the baby really need to have the Abbie brand label?

Me thinks not.

I guess I could understand if my friends with children (man, I’m getting older) got irritated for my lack of baby enthusiasm, but they seem to be cool with my no baby mindset. Maybe it’s because they have known me long enough to understand the Abbie genes are a little wacko.

Anyway. Not saying babies are bad. They’re pretty cool for some people – just not me.

Eckgh. I think I’ve typed the word baby one too many times now.

Baby rant done.

I think these (baby post one, and baby post two) two posts may have inspired me to write this today.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 10:12 pm

    I think it’s the same reason people with very strong religious beliefs will try to shove it on others. Because it brings THEM joy and they want you to feel that joy, too. I’m sure you have enough joy on your own, it’s all cool. I have 6 girls, so just tell them you’re on my “population equation team” I have room for 4 more now.

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:19 pm

    That could be true. Yeah. I suppose the topic of having kids is a pretty sensitive subject for a lot of women. Next time a baby conversation pops up, I’ll just lay low. And thanks. I totally will 🙂 Six girls my goodness! I fell bad for my folks and they only had riotous little me. You must be a patient lady.

  3. September 30, 2009 5:17 pm

    It’s also hard being in a town like Kansas Ciity, where so many people settle down and have kids. Places like New York, Chicago and others are full of single and/or childless people. But here it puts you on the margins a little bit.

  4. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    September 30, 2009 6:40 pm

    That’s true. I’ve never even thought of that. KC is a difficult town to not be the normal “gimme a kiddo” type. Ah well. The margins are nice…and free of loud kids.

  5. Glenn permalink
    September 30, 2009 11:56 pm

    Haha, I do love your use of the term “flesh accessory”. Yeah, every time I mention the fact that I NEVER want kids, the most common response to that is “oh, you’ll change your mind someday.” Really? How do they know what my mind is going to do? Even at a young age, I never thought of myself as someone who would want kids. I think most people my age know by now whether they would want them or not. (if they don’t already have them. Good god everyone’s spawning.) People who know me though usually nod and say something like “yeah, I can understand that.” I’ve even considered a vasectomy. Ha. I suppose if I ever had myself a little “accident”, I could always use it for soup. Mmm mmm good!

Leave a Reply

