Skip to content

Where Abbie’s go when they have cashes

October 26, 2009

I only have four and a half months left in my apartment.

FOUR AND A HALF MONTHS, guys.

I’m pretty happy about that.

In the meantime, I’m looking for a new place to live. I really don’t care what it looks like or how small it is; all I know is that it must be super, super cheap. I must save cashes to have a personal life and buy food to maintain a healthy weight.

Seriously. Tomato soup, cereal and rolls are not cutting it anymore.

Although my personal life has been less than stellar lately because of my busyness and lack of moneyness, I have managed to go to a few shows over the last couple of weeks.

Angel Spit and KMFDM at the Beaumont, The Good Foot at the Riot Room, and Blitzen Trapper at the Jackpot.

Here are the highlights of each outing:

Angel Spit:

I got to watch girls in incredibly high platforms-heels teeter and totter while trying to dance to the electro, darkwave beats. Also, it was to hear a band that does electronic music that’s out of the norm. No gritty, indie base, weird bubbly sound effects or songs about dancing or mopeds here, kids.

KMFDM:

I learned that the members of KMFDM know how to say the band’s name multiple times during a performance. Oh, I also learned that KMFDM is a drug against war. It’s true. They said so. I say we drop them in a war zone and see what happens.

The Good Foot:

Soul music has a nice “footing” (haha) in KC. But really. Julia Haile’s voice is superb and the band is grand (and dapper, too). The band kept the crowd dancing through both of its sets. The Good Foot has a few shows coming up, so be sure to check them out.

Blitzen Trapper:

Dear goodness, I can’t help it. I love these guys. I typically hate folk music, too. Blitzen does a nice job of adding in indie, rock, and electronic elements to the music, though (the music is epic and cheesy at times, but very well written). The band was amazing live. All harmonies seemed to be in perfect unison and pitch. The band sounded like perfection on a stick.

In other music news, my father sent me an e-mail today with a link.

The e-mail stated:

“Take a listen to grandpa’s new single. His warbling is beautiful.”

The link sent me to Bob Dylan’s Christmas album.

Now that’s some folk music I don’t like.

Yikes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

