Skip to content

Spaghetti, socks, and sicks

November 17, 2009
tags: ,

Yeah. It’s Tuesday night, but I still want to tell you about my weekend of hilarity and faility. That’s right.

FAILity.

On Friday evening, I went to a show at the Eighth Street Taproom. The show was great. I mean, all three bands (well, the two I saw) are excellent.

The crowd was not lovely, though. A group of squeaky females and gruff, hipster dudes crowded my bench space bubble.

Not shocking or horrible I know, but damn. I wanted my spaaaaaaccce. And I was tired.

And grouchy.

And…

getting sick…

But, I did not know that at that point and time.

I was planning on going to the Rob Zombie show on Sat. I missed the show I was supposed to attend the Friday before, and missed a few shows during the last week so I thought, what the heck. It’ll be fun.

No, Abbie. No fun for you.

The Zombie show sold out.

Damn.

So, alternate Sat. plans kick into play.

I headed down to Lawrence early in the day so I could get some tasty Mad Greek food.

On the way to the restaurant, I saw something amazing.

I saw a drunken blue shirt (translation: KU sports fan) run into the middle of the street and grab on to moving cars. Then, a large group of blue shirts joined him.

Seriously.

They were all smiles and laughs until a cop approached the initial offender and wrote him a ticket.

Ha ha.

At the Greek, TWO groups. TWO…wiggled in front of me to place their names on the list. Rude. Rude. Rude. I let them know as much, and they all looked shocked and sorry.

Manners, people.

Then, highlight! A lady blue shirt told me I had an awesome sense of fashion. Now, I don’t think that at all, but hey, I’ll take any compliment I get these days.

Later that evening, I attended a superhero costume party. Now, I don’t have a lot of costumes, so I had to improvise and be all creative.

What superhero did I go as?

I went as…

The Skank Strangler

I had really tall socks and stockings on that evening, so I told everyone that I stalked and strangled skanks with my super scary socks.

Surprisingly, it was a hit.

Then comes Sunday morning…

I had a scratchy throat and stuffy nose. I tried to blame it on the bonfire from the night before, but when Monday morning came, it was obvious…

I was sick!!!

Bah. And this time, it’s not little kid sick. It’s, like, 102 fever sick. Annnd I’m still sick today. I hope this clears up by Wednesday or Thursday. I really don’t want to go to the dr. and have to wear one of those mask thingys.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

