Skip to content

Every time an Abbie moves, she gets laid off (or is it laid-off?)

May 4, 2010

The statement above is soo true! Thus far, at least.

Not that I blame anyone, or anything…well, I blame the news industry, of course. And this stinkin’ economy.

Ah. It’s okay, though.

I just moved into the most beautiful house in sweet and breezy Lawrence, Kan. I love the neighborhood, and I’ve got a pretty awesome roommate. So, no matter what happens in my work life, I’ve got a lovely place to put my shoes at night.

Anyhow, as all five of my readers know, I begin to write a lot (a lot, a lot) more when I don’t write for a living.

So, prepare for an avalanche of words! And, I’m going to grow a beard, as all people in transition do. Well, at least man people. And, I’m part man. Emotionally, at least.

What am I doing after my third (dear God, that is so depressing) job departure, you ask?

I’m working my arse off!

Applying for jobs, changing the old schedule to add that crazy thing called “spice” to my life.

It’s going rather well, me thinks. I’ve landed on my feet, I think. They are a bit bruised (as is my ego), but I’ve got plenty of things to keep me busy. For example, I’ll be covering Stardeath and the White Dwarfs tonight. And, right now, as I type, my ears are analyzing The National‘s new album.

I’ll be working it hard soon, I hope. And pray. And, I normally don’t do that, so, you know it must be bad…

but bad as in, “what could happen!?”. Bright eyed and starry eared look, commence!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shawn permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:25 pm

    Don’t worry- I see a bright future ahead of you! Even with your man-ish transitions of beard growing and emotions.

    BTW- I’m digging the yellow nails above the big ole “F”

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    May 9, 2010 1:24 am

    A bright future flipping burgers! Not to say I’m that upset because I knew it was coming – for two months. Just wish it was done differently. My beard will be epic! Yes. I have nails of many colors. Yellow being most vibrant. They are due for a new coat now, though.

Leave a Reply

