Skip to content

Go to these shows or Syphilis will consume your brain

June 10, 2010

Hey! Remember the time I worked at that news company?

I wrote spiffy articles that suggested where to go and what to do for the weekend.

I sometimes threatened peoples’ bodies and warned them they may face a horrible demise if they decided not to go out.

Remember!?

You don’t?

Okay.

That doesn’t matter.

What does matter is that you now know (as of, like, right now) I’m doing that again, but on a way smaller scale.

No, no. I’m not doing this for them anymore. I’m moving up!

I’m doing this for myself because, well, I love myself…

*Gives self a warm, caring embrace*

~

Stuff to do:

Broke as a joke? Cheer up you crazy kids! Here are a few free events happening this weekend:

Thursday:
Lawrence’s Downtown Film Festival – Bringing Up Baby at 9:15 p.m. – Outdoor festivities at 8 p.m. Head to Lawrence.com for more information (where it is, what to bring).

Saturday:
Street P’Arty – 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. – 35th Anniversary for the Lawrence Arts Center – free

~~~

Touring shows:

Thursday:
Josiah Wolf of Why? / Cars and Trains – 7 p.m. – The Jackpot – $7 to $9

Sunday:
MGMT / Tame Impala (So. Damn. Good. A late 60s (but totally 2010) rock explosion) – Uptown Theater – $30 – 7 p.m.

and also on Sunday,

Holy Fuck (Experimental goodness from Canada) / Light Pollution / Nayonets – The Jackpot – 9 p.m. – $10 – $12

~~~

Localish shows:

Friday:
Bobby Conn / Drakkar Sauna – 10 p.m. – The Replay  – $2 to $3

and also on Friday,

THIEVES / Ha Ha Tonka – 10:45 p.m. – recordBar –  no price listed

Saturday:
Hammerlord CD release – The Replay – 10 p.m. – $3

~~~

Movie night (for cheap):

Saturday:
Midnight Movie Madness: The Big Lebowski – Liberty Hall – Make your costume work for two nights this weekend, guys – 11:30 p.m. – $5

~

See?

Short, sweet and sexy.

Unlike me.

~

Have other shows to add? Leave ’em in the comments.

Hate my picks? Berate them in the comments.

Hate me? So unfair because I love you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    June 10, 2010 11:51 pm

    Correction. Tall, sweet, and sexy. And perhaps I will see you at MGMT w/Tame Impala… I got the ticks!

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    Ha. I am tall, for sure. Not sure about that other stuff. I hate you for getting tickets, you know. I liked them before you!!!! I hate being all poor and stuff.

Leave a comment