Skip to content

Happy Birthday to me

January 12, 2011
tags: ,

Oh, last birthday year. What a strange year you were.

I outlined all the lows and highs of the last year in my holiday letter, but my age had nothing to do with those highs or lows. Age “stuff” just peppered the last year with a bit of seasoning.

For example,

when I was in class, students would ask me if I was a sophomore. I’d say I was a graduated graduate student. They’d look at me with big eyes and say, “wow. I want to look as good as you when I’m your age.”

Your age.

Most people would probably be insulted by that, but I’m not. It’s a compliment and I hope I always get reactions like that. Those reactions give me a reason to continue running my ass off, eating veggies and drinking copious amounts of red wine.

I suppose the only thing those kinds of comments do is make me think about why so many people are bothered by their age number. If a person is doing what makes them happy, why fixate on “the number?”

I mean, yeah. I’ve been through some terrible crap, but it didn’t age me or make me a bitter old woman.

I’m an independent, decent looking, grown lady person.

But…

I’m immature.

I love b-horror.

I chuckle when I see naked asses and the word twat.

I love Adult Swim and playing Wii.

I get all giddy when I watch science fiction or watch a Joss Whedon show.

I still like Mike & Ikes, love stickers and heart glitter (no, I’m not a stripper.)

But yeah. I’m adulty.

Kind of.

Right?

So, how do you guys act your age? What are “age appropriate actions” for a gal like me?

While you think about those deep questions, let’s have a look at some names of people who share my birthday day:

Rob Zombie
Christiane Amanpour
Howard Stern
Walter Mosley
Jack London
John Hancock

And, some way cool Capricorns:

Edgar Allen Poe
David Bowie
Tippi Hedren
J.D. Salinger
Cary Grant
Betty White

Thoughtful and educational.

Edughtful, if you will.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 9:55 am

    Happy happy birthday!

  2. Suzie permalink
    January 15, 2011 9:58 am

    Loved your comments!

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      February 2, 2011 10:02 am

      Thank you, nerdy mom.

Leave a Reply

