Skip to content

Semi-normal Black Swan

February 1, 2011

Did you guys see Black Swan?

Did you think the film was creepy?

Were you, like, “whoa. Nina and Lily’s ‘sex scene’ wasn’t that awesome. I’ve seen better on Cinemax.”

"Oh, Lily," Nina said. "You lookin' good, grrrrl."

If you thought the word “yes” to my second question, I’m going to come to your home and chase you around while wearing your grandmother’s skin. During my visit, I may eat your brain (that depends on my mood and your level of intelligence.)

But really.

Black Swan was not a “psycho, lesbian, sex thriller.” It was a film about a girl who had undiagnosed mood, eating and social disorders. And, well, I’ll just say it. She needed to get laid.

Bad.

Now, don’t look at this post and get all “this Abbie chick doesn’t know what she’s talking about! Nina was, like, possessed by a dancer-demon from some demented hell land. There’s no way other people go through that kind of stuff.”

Sorry, pessimistic reader.

I do know what I’m typing about. I used to do some of that weird stuff to myself.

Minus the dancing.

*looks to the sky – sheds tear – raises fist*

When I was younger, I acted out and developed dangerous quirks to combat all sorts of fun, little, mind demons.

For example:

When I was a little kid: I would repeat the same phrase to my parents, over and over, to ensure they wouldn’t die in their sleep.

As a teenager: I rocked the model diet (diet coke, cigarettes, rinse and repeat.) The lack of food made me a tad loopy.

All my life: I’ve had night terrors, and I sometimes wake-up scratching myself.

Going through these stages and coming out on top made me realize a few things:

1. My efforts did not make me perfect. They made me grumpy and insane.

2. There are a lot of people (guys and gals) who have had or have the same problems.

None of the subject matter in Black Swan is that odd or crazy. Yes, Nina was sick, but her lifestyle and those around her blinded her from realizing how destructive she was.

Anyway…

My point.

People have issues.

Don’t automatically think people with mental problems are crazy psychopaths or not normal. You may be one bad day away from a mental break of your own.

~

Image credit: Brenda Starr

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Scarlett permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:16 pm

    This might be my favorite review of Black Swan so far. Especially for the steamy exclusive photo.

    Seriously, though…being a dancer, and having lived with anorexia and bulimia for 10 years as well as having some of the borderline personality disorder and OCD tendencies Nina (oh so theatrically) displays, I loved the film. I thought it was a great look into the psychology of the repressed perfectionist, even if the take on the ballet world was slightly melodramatic.

    You’re right–these issues aren’t from some ballet-demon-from-hell. What made Black Swan such a well-done movie was how it showed that the worst demons are internal.

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      February 2, 2011 12:10 am

      Yes – the photo is super hot. And I agree – Darren Aronofsky does a great job showing how perfectionism/obsession can destroy people, but he does have a tendency to be way dramatic. And thanks so much for the lovely compliment, Scarlett. It means a lot!

  2. suzie stutzer permalink
    February 5, 2011 1:23 pm

    Good writing.

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      February 8, 2011 10:42 pm

      Thanks again, nerdy mom!

  3. February 9, 2011 6:05 pm

    Catching up on some of your recent posts. Really enjoyed this one. Good points and well delivered. Looking forward to finally seeing the film… it opened in Germany this month. Hope you are doing well.
    LW

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      February 12, 2011 11:49 am

      Thanks much, sir! I am as peachy as a peach in a pie. I hope you two are well, too.

Leave a Reply

