Skip to content

Stealing vegetables

July 10, 2012

I spent the day working from my parents’ home and catching up on a month’s worth of downloaded music. It was nice to get away from my apartment for a bit. I’m ignoring that I have to move soon (rent hikes + a writer’s salary = moving, like, all the time.)

I took a break from my editing and writing projects this afternoon and went on a walk through my family’s garden. I lifted found the following ripe veggies:

Spicy green guys guaranteed to make me cry.

Mutant tomato with, like, three brains.

A butterbush squash (dirty!).

A zucchini (I couldn’t think of anything snarky.)

A tiny eggplant with an egg-like head.

Cuke-o-rama (aka a lot of cucumbers).

They all look delicious! And unlike the fresh, organic produce at Whole Foods and the Merc these tasty beauties are free. Great for my pocketbook (not so great for my mom’s salad).

Here are some of the tunes that fueled my day:

Ice Choir

Echo Lake

Dignan Porch

W. Pontonen

IO Echo

– all via Stereogum

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2012 8:52 pm

    Very energetic post, I enjoyed that a lot. Will
    there be a part 2?

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    November 25, 2012 10:11 pm

    Thank you! Probably come spring and everything gets going again. I may do a variation of other winter sights in KS/MO.

Leave a Reply

