Skip to content

Odd jobs

August 13, 2012

I’m a full-time freelance writer (surprise), so I work from home almost every day.

Why do I work from a cushioned and covered, gigantic old TV? Well:

a. it’s easy. I can start working when I wake, take my pup out whenever, etc.
b. I can’t afford to rent an office space.

So, to one day be able to rent an office, I take on odd jobs!

This week I’m dog sitting two sweet pups. Luckily, the little ladies get along with my beagle and it’s been a play fest all weekend (and today). Well, except when Bean, the tiny-ist dog of the bunch, humps my beagle’s toy squirrel. Stuff gets kind of awkward then.

Squirrel-humper. Also: anti-yoga (she likes to crawl on my lap when I stretch.)

While dog sitting these fine pups, I’ve worked on business plans (of the Ginchy Words kind). It’s a laugh riot, let me tell you. The one thing I’ve done that shows some kind of freelance business progress? I’ve created a Facebook page. Yes, it’s barren and the photos are totally weak. That will change, though. So, like it if you feel inclined.

So, for all you work-at-homers — do you take on any odd jobs to supplement income? If so, what?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 8:34 pm

    I love Bean!!!

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      August 14, 2012 7:27 am

      Bean is so darn cute. She pretty much doubles as a cuddle-y drape.

Leave a Reply

