Skip to content

Grave Hard: a bone-rattling journey through graveyards

September 2, 2012

Graveyards

“Why do you like death so much.”

My pal mumbled this when I asked if he thought death was a frightening concept. I mean, really. Who doesn’t ask friends bizarre-o questions about the human condition?

He does have a point, though. I enjoy researching death. I listen with hands clenched while people recall “real ghost encounters.” I think it’s fun to talk about my near-death experience with fellow could-have-been departeds. And I love horror films, duh. So, naturally, I think graveyards are the bees knees.

Why so? Well, awesome (and awful, I’m sure) people fill graveyards. Tombstones: totally intriguing and often wrought with timeless quips.

So, here’s my madcap writer plan: over the next few months, I’m going to visit many graveyards. I will take photos! Research each graveyard’s history! And: I will unearth tidbits about the dearly departed populating these dirt-filled, forever homes.

Which graveyards do you fancy? Where should I go? Keep in mind that I have an old car, a small amount of money and live in Missouri/Kansas. Give me your thoughts in the comments.

— NPR’s summer series, Dead Stop inspired this project.

image: sufw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter Alexander Vaughn permalink
    September 12, 2012 6:12 am

    Great stuff Abbie.

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    September 16, 2012 8:05 am

    Thanks so very much!

Leave a Reply

