Skip to content

Who do you give to?

February 4, 2013
The Hope Lodge

The Hope Lodge

I love time alone and being at home when I’m not working. But one activity I don’t mind leaving the house for is volunteering.

I started volunteering at the Hope Lodge, Kansas City, Mo. It’s a spectacular organization that houses cancer patients while they get treatment. A few times a week, I walk over and help the cleaning staff, or post on the Lodge’s social media accounts.

No matter how tired or grumpy I feel when I arrive at the Lodge, I always leave the organization energized and happy. The women who run the office are amazing to work with and the guests are incredibly sweet.

Come spring, I’m thinking about also giving a few hours a month to Cultivate Kansas City. I really miss gardening (my apartment doesn’t have a community garden that I know of) and want to play in the dirt.

Is volunteering important to you guys? Where do you volunteer?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

