Skip to content

Ah, how quickly life changes: Stray dog edition

March 17, 2013

What’s the worst/best thing in the world? Finding a stray dog.

Said stray dog in question. I am calling him sweet boy dog for now.

Said stray dog in question. I am calling him sweet boy dog for now.

His details:

  • Boy shepherd, about 8 months to 2-years-old.
  • Found in Case Park in Quality Hill, KCMO.
  • Golden brown, with white belly.
  • No tags.
  • Pointy ears.
  • Responds to baby talk.

I am happy I found this dog because:

a. He was weak as hell: I was finishing up my long-ass run with Daphne, my beagle. She saw the pup and freaked out (happy shakes, not scared), which alerted me. I knew something was wrong with him because he seemed excited to see her, but just couldn’t move. I bookmarked the dog’s location in my mind and knew – even though I had convinced myself, “I’m not sure if I’ll go back” – that indeed, I was going back.

b. He really did need to get off the streets: dog + being near a highway = sure way to die.

Worst because:

a. Someone gave him up, or lost him: I’ve lost Daphne before and it’s horrible. I am so lucky that I found her (thanks so her microchip, kind citizens, and in one case — her nose) each time she’s escaped. If this dog isn’t lost, someone let him go. Abandoning a pet on the streets is just, ugh, I can’t even get into my feelings on that.

b. I want him: but I already have a dog. How will they interact if I adopt him? He may eat everything. And then pee and poop on it, throw it up, and then tear a hole in the floor, which will make my dog pee and poop on whatever it was he threw up, etc. The cycle is never-ending. Animals – so giving.

I’ll get more information about his adoptable status on Monday after a vet checks him out. If I take him, or not, I will keep tabs on him until I know where he is, and that he is safe. Hell, I hope that he has an owner who is searching for him and sees this post. Sadly, though, I think someone abandoned sweet dog boy.

Anyhow, as you all can tell, Saturday (the day I found the dog) was a traumatic day. To help myself get through Saturday I:

David Bowie

Hint: This is not the photo I downloaded.

Found all these wonderful photos and gifs of The Man Who Fell To Earth. I downloaded one of the photos and made it my desktop background. Not telling you which one it is…

Made this playlist to take my mind off it for the time being:

Who wants to listen to some tunes?

If you ever find a dog, or pet, here’s what to do (all the great information comes from Wayward Dogs, a great, local (Kansas City) blog.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 10:39 am

    I completely agree with you that finding a dog is the best/worst thing in the world. I am eager to find out what happens with this sweet pup. Keep me posted. I’m happy to help however I can. Also: Here is a really great link for what to do when you find a dog: http://www.missingpetpartnership.org/recovery-stray.php

  2. Abbie Stutzer permalink
    March 17, 2013 1:52 pm

    Lovely! Thanks for the continued wonderful info. Yeah, if he is in good health and isn’t aggressive toward other dogs, I have a feeling he’s going to have a couch to crash on soon. Justin has already thrown out two possible names to me. So, fingers crossed that he’s all good (or that his owners step forward soon)!

  3. KC Pet Project permalink
    March 25, 2013 2:39 pm

    FYI Kaleb was adopted yesterday! You can see a very cute picture of him on our facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/kcpetproject!

    • Abbie Stutzer permalink
      March 25, 2013 6:55 pm

      I know! I’m actually one of the people who adopted him (our love for the fur kid outweighed our fears.) We figured that he was for sure ours because we found him and all would be OK. He’s doing amazing, btw. You guys are very sweet for letting me know, though. I was so happy to see Dallas got adopted today, too. He seems like such an amazing guy.

Trackbacks

  1. From the Streets to the Shelter | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

